United Nations University

The United Nations University (UNU) is the academic arm of the United Nations (UN). It bridges the academic world and the UN system. Its goal is to develop sustainable solutions for current and future problems of humankind in all aspects of life. Through a problem-oriented and interdisciplinary approach it aims at applied research and education on a global scale. UNU was founded in 1973 and is an autonomous organ of the UN General Assembly. The University comprises headquarters Tokyo, Japan, and more than a dozen Institutes and Programmes worldwide.


Quick Links





Explore UNU Bonn´s entities

9th Bonn Dialogues Event Focuses on Climate Change and Extreme Events

"Climate Change and Extreme Events-the Role of Human Society" will address climate-related risks, the vulnerability of human society and possible adaptation strategies. The panel discussion is open to the public and will take place on 7 June 2011, 6 p.m., at Deutsche Welle (Kurt-Schumacher-Str. 3, 53113 Bonn). Please download poster and postcard of this event.

About Bonn Dialogues

"Bonn Dialogues on Global Environmental Change" are a  series of events focusing on substantive issues related to anthropogenic drivers and consequences of Global Environmental Change and Human Security - addressing in a cross-cutting manner sector-specific themes such as climate, water, energy or food.

The Dialogue Series aims to:

  • raise public awareness of different aspects of Global Environmental Change;
  • serve as a forum for interdisciplinary multi-stakeholder exchanges of views;
  • contribute to different scientific, political and public discourses; and
  • present Bonn as a host of various organizations dealing with cooperation, sustainable development and environmental concerns. 

The Bonn Dialogues Series takes place twice a year. It is jointly organized by UNU Bonn and the German Committee for Disaster Reduction (DKKV) in partnership with the City of Bonn. Furthermore, Bonn Dialogues is supported by Deutsche Welle, the European Union and the federal government of North Rhine-Westphalia.