United Nations University

The United Nations University (UNU) is the academic arm of the United Nations (UN). It bridges the academic world and the UN system. Its goal is to develop sustainable solutions for current and future problems of humankind in all aspects of life. Through a problem-oriented and interdisciplinary approach it aims at applied research and education on a global scale. UNU was founded in 1973 and is an autonomous organ of the UN General Assembly. The University comprises headquarters Tokyo, Japan, and more than a dozen Institutes and Programmes worldwide.


Quick Links





Explore UNU Bonn´s entities

The Director


Professor Jakob Rhyner


Tel .: + 49-228-815-0201


Former UNU-EHS Directors.

Academic staff in alphabetical order





Abeling, Thomas

PhD Researcher


Asare-Kyei, Daniel

PhD Researcher

Ayeb-Karlsson, Sonja

Project Consultant


Balogun, Kehinde

Research Assistant


Becker, Sobiah

Project Manager


Corendea, Cosmin

Associate Academic Officer / Legal Expert


Depietri, Yaella

PhD Researcher


Garschagen, Matthias

Head of Section, VARMAP


Haas, Susanne

Student Assistant



Education Programme Coordinator


Huq, Nazmul

PhD Researcher

Kloos, Julia

Associate Academic Officer


Kreft, Sönke

Research Associate


La Thi, Nga

PhD Researcher

Mammadov, Famil

Program Support Assistant


Milan, Andrea

Research Associate


Nguyen Dang, Giang Chau

PhD Researcher

Nouira, Chahira

Research Associate


Pardoe, Joanna

PhD Researcher

Rademacher-Schulz, Christina

Research Associate


Renaud, Fabrice

Head of Section, EVES


Rosenfeld, Jessica

Research Associate


Sari, Siswani

Visiting Scientist

Schäfer, Laura

Project Concultant

Schrass, Karl

Research Assistant


Schwab, Maria

PhD Researcher


Sebesvari, Zita

Associate Academic Officer


Setiadi, Neysa

Research Associate


Sidze, Sandrine

PhD Researcher


Snorek, Julie

PhD Researcher


Sommerwerk, Nike

Research Associate


Szarzynski, Jörg

Head of Section, EGECHS


Tambo, Erick Gankam

Associate Academic Officer


Thanh Binh, Nguyen

PhD Researcher

Vo Phuong Hong, Loan

PhD Researcher


van der Geest, Kees

Scientist Coordinator

Warner, Koko

Head of Section, EMSVA


Wilbers, Gert-Jan

PhD Researcher

Wolfertz, Jan

Statistical Analyst


Wrathall, David

Associate Academic Officer


Yuzva, Kristina

Project Associate


Zissener, Michael

Research Associate


Phd Researchers based at partner institutes.

Central Units staff in alphabetical order





Ahmed, Randa

Executive Associate


Basnyat, Aarti

Digital Communications Associate


Bochem, Andreas

Senior IT Assistant


Ghani, Fawad

HR and Operations Focal Point


Graham, Philip

Head of Information & Communication Technology Unit


Hernández, Esmeralda

Procurement & Administrative Assistant


Bistami, Bouchra

Junior Web Developer


Kandel, Janine

Head of Communications


Lin, Eric

Finance & Administrative Officer


Mullins, Matthew

Programme Support


Ouedraogo, Marie

Assistant to the Executive Office


Shimazu-Oberhoff, Mariko

Finance Associate


Wendeler, Andrea

Graphic Design Associate


Yi, Sijia

Assistant to the Communications Unit


Zwick, Sabrina

Programme Assistant